Emergency Medicine


Our Mission

The Department's educational mission is to train proficient, caring physicians able to meet the many challenges of emergency medicine. We are committed to provide our graduates with the clinical and interpersonal skills to appropriately manage multiple acutely ill or injured patients in a timely, compassionate, and cost-effective manner.

Residency Profile

This is an ACGME and AOA dually accredited residency program in Emergency Medicine that can graduate 8 Board-prepared physicians per year, with a total capacity for 28 residents (osteopathic and allopathic). The primary site for the residency is the Newark Beth Israel Medical Center. Majority of osteopathic training year will performed at Nassau University Medical Center (NUMC) in East Meadow, NY. All graduating residents are eligible to take the certifying exam for the American Board of Emergency Medicine.

Residents also train at the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey (UMDNJ), Jersey City Medical Center and Saint Barnabas Medical Center. This provides a diversity of training in various clinical settings. In addition, there is a rotation at the New York Poison Control Center.

The main emergency department at Newark Beth Israel saw approximately 90,000 patients last year. This includes a separate pediatric emergency department with approximately 30,000 visits for the same year. The pediatric section is fully staffed by physicians board-certified in pediatric emergency medicine and/or emergency medicine.

In addition to clinical training, every resident is required to complete a scholarly project.

Emergency Medicine Faculty

Eric J Wasserman, MD Eric J. Wasserman, MD, FACEP
Chairman & Medical Director, EM Department

Patrick Hinfey, MD Patrick Hinfey, MD, FACEP, FAAEM
Program Director of EM Residency
Faculty Since: 2002

Nicole Maguire DONicole Maguire, DO
Osteopathic Program Director, EM Residency
Faculty Since: 2007

Shelley Jones-Dillon, MD Shelley Jones-Dillon, MD
Associate Program Director, EM Residency
Faculty Since: 2005

Mark Merlin, DO Mark A. Merlin, DO
Vice Chairman & Program Director, EMS/Disaster Medicine Fellowship
Faculty Since: 2011

Deven Unadkat, MD Deven Unadkat, DO, MPA, FACEP
Associate Medical Director
Physician DefaultShereni Zinzuwadia, MD
EM Teaching Attending
Adam SivitzAdam Sivitz, MD
Medical Director, Pediatric ED
Physician DefaultCatherine Scarfi, MD
Program Director, Pediatric EM Fellowship
Navin Ariyaprakai, MD Navin Ariyaprakai, MD
Assistant Program Director, EMS/Disaster Medicine Fellowship
Ammundeep Tagore, MD Ammundeep Tagore, MD
Assistant Program Director, EMS/Disaster Medicine Fellowship

John Matjucha, MD, FAAEM
EM Teaching Attending
Faculty Since: 1997

Frederick Waldronm, MD

Frederick Waldron, MD, MS
EM Teaching Attending

Physician Default Garrett Norman, MD
EM Teaching Attending
Physician Default Mariela Torres, MD
EM Teaching Attending
Physician Default Zev Lob, DO
EM Teaching Attending