Shared Governance

Shared GovernanceShared Governance Unit Practice Council (UPC) membership continues to grow and expand its reach with the addition of a float nurse council and outpatient unit involvement. The initiatives being implementing are empowering, motivational and varied based on specific patient care populations. Some examples include increasing compliance of existing policies through peer accountability and improving the work environment by enhancing collaboration and communication amongst staff.

The SBMC Shared Governance model is represented by six councils:

  • The Nurse Executive Cabinet (NEC) is comprised of the co-chairs from each of the 5 sub- councils. This is the governing body of Nursing Shared Governance.
  • The Professional Nurse Practice Council (PNPC) is comprised of appointed chair(s) from each of the individual Unit Practice Councils (UPC). UPCs are comprised of approximately 3-15 staff nurses, (including Patient Care Coordinators and Clinical Care Coordinators) from a particular unit.
  • Inquiry Council is comprised of nursing education, the medical librarian and advanced practice and staff nurses.
  • APN Council (APNC) is comprised of advanced practice nurses credentialed at SBMC.
  • Staffing and Patient Satisfaction is comprised of Nursing Leadership and Nursing Staff represented by NJNU.
  • Professional Development is comprised of nursing education, nursing leadership, clinical coordinators, and staff nurses.